Reviews

Did you love Dealing with Early Onset Alzheimer’s: Love, Laughter & Tears?

If you don’t know how to express your newfound joy, here are a few suggestions:

  1. Tell your friends and family
  2. Share your experience in a review on Amazon, or Goodreads
  3. Connect with me on social media or leave a review below

A Quiet Heroine

5.0 rating
May 30, 2021

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 29, 2021
This book is both heartbreaking and uplifting.
Sonia Discher tells the story of how her husband, Steve, was diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimer’s at the age of fifty, changing both of their lives forever.
She isn’t looking for pity in this book, nor is she filled with a ‘poor me’ attitude but she tells the reader how she got on with caring for her husband, searching for a cure, or at least something that could slow the progression of the illness and all the while loving the man who had been her childhood sweetheart and living life as normally as it was possible to do so for as long as they could.
It was hard not to shed a tear and I found myself reaching for the tissues many times as I read on to this story’s inevitable conclusion.
Her bravery, her compassion and her dedication shine through every page.

Amanda Sheridan

Heartwarming, and Heartbreaking

5.0 rating
May 26, 2021

Sonia Discher’s heartwarming, and heartbreaking ordeal with dealing with her husband’s early onset of Alzheimer’s diesis at the age of 50. Many of us are hit by dementia or Alzheimer’s in elderly relatives, as indeed I was. Whilst this is the story of Steve Sonia and the daily ordeals they faced it will also be a great help and comfort for anybody going through this with a relation a spouse or a partner. The dedication shown by Sonia was heart-warming and her dogmatic way of dealing with it is full credit to her. A strong recommendation to read this battle against one of the worst illnesses a person can get.

Tony Hampson

Beautiful and honest.

5.0 rating
May 1, 2021

I followed Steve and Sonia’s story and after reading Sonia’s book was reminded of the love that was the ultimate core of the relationship.
The book is beautifully and honestly written through love and tears and laughter. Alzheimer’s is a devastating disease to watch a loved one struggle with.
Sonia was strong, gracious , humbling and human the entire journey by sharing her raw emotions. She also loads the book with information that can be helpful to many.
Excellent source of resources, guidance and inspiration!!!

Eliza Tyler

Apr 03, 2021 it was amazing

5.0 rating
April 30, 2021

First and foremost, I could not stop reading this, it was quite hard to put down I have to admit.
This tragic story completely opened me up to Alzheimer’s and how it can affect loved ones and those around you. I’ve never experienced Alzheimer’s but this completely opened my mind and heart to it. This story moved me and some parts made me cry. This is truly a story about how devoted a wife is to her husband, through sickness, and in health. This story shows the hardships of Sonia and Steve, it gives you a glimpse into their daily lives and how truly heartbreaking it is to have a loved one with a diagnosis of early-onset Alzheimer’s.
I want to thank you so much for sharing your journey darling. You’re so strong. I’ve learned many new things, your journey truly moved me. I am not one to read non-fiction but this was truly a book that brought tears to my eyes, I hope those are open to reading this story. Though I would recommend having a box of tissues next to you. A truly amazing read, would highly recommend it.

E.V. Browne

Difficult Subject Handled with Care

5.0 rating
March 28, 2021

Nobody wants to learn a loved one has been given, essentially, a death sentence.
It’s harder when it’s at a relatively young age.
And it’s almost impossible when you’re going to have to watch their mind – the person you love – fall apart first.
Sonia Discher tackles this without flinching, relating with pathos, humor, and an overwhelming sense of love her husband’s tale.
You’re going to laugh, and cry, and be amazed by her strength and humanity.

Adam Gaffen

Genre: Practical Motivational & Self Help

5.0 rating
February 17, 2021

I knew that this book was going to be an emotional one for me.
This is written as a memoir almost. It is gritty and real and Discher doesn’t hold back with truth here in this motivational book. She moves slowly through the early life of her and Steve, her beloved husband. Their life was incredibly happy until he was diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimer’s at age 50. She lays everything bare, the good, the bad and the ugly.
It is tough to read at some points but it is incredibly beneficial to see the effect that this disease had on her whole life. I don’t think people can really understand how all encompassing this illness truly is, I know I didn’t.
It isn’t all doom and gloom though. The hardships are beautifully intertwined with amazing, funny, romantic and lovely anecdotes. They showed the small moments of happiness that was found between the lines of obstacle. It was clear to me that Discher is an incredibly strong woman to go through all this and be able to so eloquently offer her help to other families in the midst of this trauma.
The pictures were a lovely touch and I was incredibly emotional as the story developed towards the end.
This book is a heart-breaking tale of love that endures all. It was a privilege to read it.

Lauren Kilinc

Love Wins

5.0 rating
February 4, 2021

I went to high school with Sonia and Steve. I knew how this book would end and it was heartbreaking to learn what they had to endure. But as someone who also cared for a dying spouse, it was a reassurance that I too had done all that I could. In the end, love wins. Love ALWAYS wins.

Phyllis Marshall Gowans

Informative, recollection of a family’s painful journey through a devastating disease.

5.0 rating
December 27, 2020

I’ve learned from this book that I could have done some things differently, and that instincts play an important role in dealing with a loved one who was affected late in life with Alzheimer’s disease. I was brought to tears reading when each time Sonia recanted a defeat in her efforts, and would lose some ground to the disease. I can’t imagine the strength, determination, and resourcefulness she would bring to the fight for Steve’s life each and every day. I am honored to call her friend.

Glen Horvath

Early Onset Alzheimer’s

5.0 rating
December 9, 2020

Wonderful book. Steve’s wife was his ultimate advocate. My heart breaks for her. She gave a view into the world of early onset Alzheimer’s and showed that there were still good days. Thank you for sharing your journey.

Andrew S. – Reviewed in the United States on November 22, 2020

Informative, heartful and very helpful!

5.0 rating
November 14, 2020

Reviewed in the United States on November 12, 2020
As someone who experienced caring for someone with early-onset Alzheimer’s for years (Father), I can honestly say this book has the best guidelines for someone who doesn’t know anything about the subject and is in a situation where they need help! It tackles lots of issues, obstacles, and challenges and how to deal with them in a practical sustainable way. With helpful tips and tricks, and a full view of what’s to expect along the way, and how to focus on the patient’s wellbeing. This is a great book that I wish I had at the time of need, I had to learn everything on my own, and even afterwards I couldn’t explain it as good as this book does! highly recommended!

M.K. Ragab Reviewed in the United States on November 12, 2020

Goodreads review by Elijah, son of Michael S

5.0 rating
November 13, 2020

Dealing With Early Onset Of Alzheimer’s by Sonia Discher, sadly, is the heartbreaking true story of her late husband Steve. It took three evenings to read because of my daytime commitments, but it was worth the time spent reading. It’s an easy, well-written read that’s inspirational and informative with no punches pulled. And it’s a very humbling account of how to care for someone with a debilitating illness like Alzheimer’s or mental health problems. After reading this book, I can only imagine what the family went through and consider myself lucky that I’m fit and reasonably healthy. Worth 5 stars and more. Posted by Elijah, son of Michael S.

Michael Siddall

A Special Book – Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 October 2020

5.0 rating
October 27, 2020

Not only does this book give an emotion filled insight into caring and living with a loved one with dementia, written in an engaging and inspirational way but it also offers tips and advice for anyone in a similar situation.
It’s a special book and you’ll find it hard to put down for long.

RJ

Tragic ! -Oct 10, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

This book was emotionally hard to read but useful in helping people cope with a loved one with Alzheimer’s. The author’s story is nothing short of tragic to think that the disease would strike her husband at such a young age. I found the sections on caregivers, medication, and resources especially helpful.

M. Henningham

Goodreads review

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

Once I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. My grandfather has Dementia, and his decline has been hard on our family but he is 88 years old and he has had a full wonderful life. I feel for Sonia and Steve so much. They still had so much of their lives ahead of them, it breaks your heart. I would recommend this book to anyone, you don’t have to have someone who is suffering from this disease to read and gain something from this book. It makes you remember that tomorrow is promised to no one and to make the most of your time on this earth. Live, Laugh and Love. I wish you all the best in the world Sonia and your family.

Melissa Jordan

Goodreads review – October 10, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

A story of how despite the odds being stacked against them, love shines through pain, disease and also, beyond death. A tale of compassion, this is a wife’s account of her husband’s descent into Alzheimer’s. She leaves nothing out. Not the laughs, the scrapes or the pain. The personal photographs shared testify to the bond Steve shared with his granddaughter, “the apple of his eye” – this book will tug at your heartstrings. Recommended

Ermelinda Makkimane

Goodreads review

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

I think this is a must read for anyone who works in the long-term health industry. I was a receptionist at a long-term care facility and can totally agree that staff never gets the time they need with the residents, I spend more than 7 minutes getting ready on any given day. I am sorry for your loss. Please know you did all the right things for Steve and you are right that he was able to hear and feel your love every time he saw you.

Kathleen

What a difficult and painful journey – Reviewed in the United Kingdom – 4 October 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

Once I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. My grandfather has Dementia, and his decline has been hard on our family but he is 88 years old and he has had a full wonderful life. I feel for Sonia and Steve so much. They still had so much of their lives ahead of them, it breaks your heart. I would recommend this book to anyone, you don’t have to have someone who is suffering from this disease to read and gain something from this book. It makes you remember that tomorrow is promised to no one and to make the most of your time on this earth. Live, Laugh and Love. I wish you all the best in the world Sonia and your family.

Karen Townsley

very comforting – August 6, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

Living with someone struggling with this disease is one of the hardest, most heartbreaking times in life. My father had this illness for a long time and it was so hard for all of us. It is the worst realization when you notice your loved one slipping away. This is very comforting to see someone else’s side of things and her struggle with her husband as he slowly begins to forget things. I really enjoyed the photos of them as it helps connect you with the experience even greater. I would recommend this book for any age that is dealing with someone that has, had this illness and or someone who is holding onto the grieving process and can not seem to let go. This author helps one stay positive and learn how to make the best decisions and the future a little bit brighter. This book has made me feel better and see things more clearly, and I have been holding onto the grief for 4 years. Thank you!

Crystal

More than just a story – August 7, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

First of all, thank you to the author for sharing your journey with early-onset Alzheimers. I personally learnt some new things from this book for example, I never knew a thing called respite exited which I will definitely be looking into for my mam.
The book gives you glimpses into what it was like for this family, especially Sonia and Steve going through their day to day lives with this disease. What I loved most about it though was there was one thing that was portrayed all the way through the book and that one thing… was LOVE.
I received a free copy of this book for my honest opinion and I am so happy that I got to read it, thank you.

Kindle Customer

Inspiring Story of Love August 8, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

This book is an inspiration for caregivers and family members dealing with Alzheimer’s disease, as well as caregivers caring for loved ones with other disorders. The Author reveals the battle she and her family faced when dealing with such a tragic diagnosis. You will find humor, sadness, and triumph in the face of dispair and understand how the author’s family made it through all the seemingly impossible hurdles that hit their family while this disease progressed before their eyes. Their decisions, in the good times and bad times, will teach readers that you can maintain your sanity and your life (altering as needed) while finding reality in some of the most difficult times you may be faced with.

Luce Wood

Personal Experience – September 3, 2020

4.0 rating
October 25, 2020

Author did an excellent job of describing her experience with spousal Alzheimer’s. One of the strongest parts of the book was her descriptions and recommendations on coping with long term care. Book will provide comfort to caregivers coping with Alzheimer’s.

David Frederick

Inpirational read September 26, 20

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

Easy to read, very well written and inspiring.

OMa

Highly Educational. Inspirational. Highly Recommended Read. – September 27, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

One word best describe this book – life changing. Not just for someone who had a loved one with an onset Alzheimer disease or a caregiver but as a human being. The sincerity, hard reality and practicality that this book have shared is a tremendous help to someone living in the world of loneliness, hopelessness, and calamity. It gives so much knowledge, tips, techniques on how to care for someone with a debilitating illness like Alzheimer or addiction or mental health disease.
This book is a story of faith, hope, love, practicality, and cooperation from people of all walks of life to extend help. A love story of the true test of time in sickness and in health, richer or poorer till death do us part. A story of a good father, a good citizen, a loving committed wife and a sensitive loving person. Indeed this book is Highly educational. Inspirational. Highly recommended read.
It made me realize the power of decision, the power of conscious commitment to someone you love, the power to enjoy and appreciate what you have, to be grateful to many things and people in your life. To appreciate more
the fullness of life, love, and people we have. Thank you author, Sonia, for sharing your experiences and love to this world

Amazon Customer

Inspiring and gripping! – September 29, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

A very inspiring and gripping book. I don’t usually read non-fiction, but this is a book that I feel very honored to have come across. I’m an emotional person, and just as much as I felt motivated, inspired, realizing how lucky I am to have the things that I have, my heart broke reading about the struggles and hardship Sonia and Steve had to endure. In my eyes Sonia is a hero. Give this book a read. We are lucky that Sonia had the courage and determination to share with us.

D. Voss

So true! – September 30, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

It was such a deep and very understanding book! Knowing my great aunt had such a hard time with Alzheimer’s and dementia in the final days of her life. How she confused me with my own mother. It was hard to see how she was struggling with her everyday lifestyle. This book is someone in the caregiving field should have when they have a client who is going through the early stages of the disease. This book is beautiful because the author is showing the readers what to do when someone close to you is going through the onset of early stages of the disease. Beautifully well written, and I will highly recommend this for sure!

Samantha Evans

Why cant I give 6 stars? This book deserves 6 stars. – October 5, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

This book was recommended to me.
I have a mother with dementia that she has had for 10 years and I believe that she may be showing subtle sign of alzheimers.
This book pinpointed the little clues and I also see in my mother and it heart chilling to see that on paper.
I’m so sorry for the authors loss and so incredibly thankful for her ability to stay strong and want to help others who may have loved ones who are going through this.
I bought this book not sure what I was going to get and I’m glad I purchased it. My heart is heavy but I think I’ll do a second read and then talk with my mother and her doctors. Dementia doesnt always mean alzheimers but the similarities here are chilling.
Thankyou author for the great resource that this book will be for many people, myself included.

MJR

Inspiring Read – October 7, 2020

5.0 rating
October 25, 2020

This book is so well written. I sat down to read it and found it very difficult to put down. I wanted to finish it. The author puts so much love and emotion into every word. It touched my soul. I’m so grateful I found this gem.

Lilly Michaels

Amazing read

5.0 rating
September 4, 2020

I enjoyed this book immensly. It opened my eyes and my heart. The Love, compassion,caring and kindness that Sonia gave to Steve during their journey will be very helpful to anyone dealing with early Onset Altzheimers.

Rose Bouchard

Must read for caregivers and for those affected by this horrible disease

5.0 rating
August 24, 2020

Sonia is an amazing woman; she is one of the strongest women that I know. She went through this journey with Steve with dignity and never-ending love for her husband, fighting fiercely for any treatment that was available and the best care possible for him. This book is a must read for anyone dealing with this horrible disease and will give you insight into ways to handle day to day hurdles, your frustrations and how to hold onto your faith as a caregiver. Thank you Sonia for sharing your journey and for all that you did for Steve!

CINDY FABIAN

Great Informative Read

5.0 rating
August 20, 2020

A very personal account with great advice for people going through these difficult times.

Louise